Category Archives: Sweet Potato Growing Regions in Kenya

Regions Where You Can Grow Sweet Potatoes in Kenya

Sweet Potato Growing Areas in Kenya
Sweet Potato Growing Areas in Kenya: There are various counties in Kenya where sweet potato growing is a viable business

Thanks to its high level of adaptability in a variety of growing conditions and the fact that it can perform well in a variety of climatic and agricultural conditions, sweet potatoes can be grown in most of the agriculturally productive regions of the country.

In terms of altitude, sweet potatoes will do well in areas with altitudes ranging from 0 to 2100 metres above the sea level. The temperatures should be at least 24 degrees Celcius for the best performance. Sweet potatoes will do well in areas that have abundant sunshine. Annual rainfall should vary anywhere from 750mm to 1000mm and the soil PH should be about 6.0.

The soils where you grow your sweet potatoes should be moist and well drained. In dry soils, the sweet potato vines or planting materials will simply wither away and in water clogged soils, there is going to be problem with the root tuber development. Based on the variety that you choose, your sweet potato crop will take anywhere from 3 to 6 months to mature. The yellow fleshed variety typically takes about 5 months so as to mature and ready for harvesting.

If you are planting in areas with shorter rains, it is advisable to choose the sweet potato varieties that mature within a shorter time frame. In Kenya, sweet potatoes can grow and do well in various parts. Here are some counties in Kenya that are ideal for sweet potato production:-

  • Homa Bay
  • Migori
  • Parts of Siaya County
  • Large Parts of Kisumu County especially those far from the lake
  • Kakamega County
  • Vihiga County
  • Busia County
  • Bungoma County
  • Trans Nzoia County
  • Bomet County
  • Kericho County
  • Kisii County
  • Nyamira County
  • Uasin Gishu County
  • Nakuru County
  • Kiambu County
  • Nyeri County
  • Nyandarua County
  • Maragua County
  • Kirinyaga County
  • Taita Taveta County
  • Kilifi County
  • Kwale County